DKFS are Europe 40 under 40 Laureates

Dirk Krolikowski and Falko Schmitt have been awarded the prestigious Europe 40 Under 40 for their work, confered by the European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies & the Chicago Athenaeum : Museum of Architecture and Design. The prize “recognizes the best emerging European design talent in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, and industrial design and their exceptional leadership contributions and achievements early in their professional careers.”

“Some of Europe’s most exceptional design talent was selected this year,” states Christian K. Narkiewicz-Laine, Museum President, The Chicago Athenaeum.  “These young practitioners, currently designing and building some of the most provocative work today, promise to be riding the crest of the future in Europe.”

Press Release here

"The Europe 40 Under 40 program was initiated by the European and American institutions,” states Kieran Conlon, Director/COO, The European Center, “as an annual program to spotlight and identify the next generation of architects and designers who will impact future living and working environments, cities, and rural areas throughout Europe.

"Europe 40 Under 40” is The European Centre’s annual awards program designed to celebrate the next new talented generation of European architects. The program is directed to support new and emerging design talent that will influence the near future of European architectural design, thinking, and theory with the direct result of impacting future environments and future European and international cities. The key is to bring wider recognition to 40 of the most promising emerging architects working in the European Union and other countries inside Europe, fostering and encouraging new talent and new creative thinking at the forefront of the profession today.

The 40 designated young architects will be honored at the ceremony for The European Prize and are invited to the annual banquet. The exhibition of “Europe 40 Under 40” will tour to European cities.The judging took place in Seattle Washington this year and the Jury composed the following:

Mr. Rafael Vignoly

Mr. Alan Maskin

Mr. John Barratt

Ms. Lisa Richmond
Executive Director, AIA SEATTLE

An exhibition for this year's winners, will take place in Buenos Aires, Argentina